Program Comparison, Articulation and Reciprocity

Assessing Comparing Recognizing Prior Learning

If the Canadian tourism sector is to achieve true learner and labour mobility for its non-regulated occupations, it must have better mechanisms for assessing, comparing and recognizing prior learning.

When there are accurate, fair and reliable mechanisms in place that enable educators and learners to assess, compare and recognize skills and credentials, everyone wins.

Building on its existing national occupational standards and industry-certification program Tourism HR Canada is carrying out targeted research projects. These projects compare and map learning outcomes for a variety of educational institutions as well as industry associations, both nationally and internationally. The goal is to further the development of protocols, processes and frameworks to support effective mechanisms for recognizing prior learning within tourism occupations.

Cooks Qualifications Framework 

Clearly identified career paths and progressive qualifications can improve industry productivity because it aids in the recruitment, selection and retention of skilled workers.

Qualified individuals provide skilled labour. But how do employers know what various qualifications mean and how they relate to one another? How do individuals who are considering entering the cooking profession find out about the options and learn about the differences in programs and qualifications?

To identify and promote positive career options, the cooking profession and the value of qualifications and optional learning routes must be described in a way that is cohesive, clear and realistic.

This project was initiated by chefs and educators who saw an opportunity to work together to provide resources that would encourage new entrants to the trade.

Chefs, industry, educators, apprenticeship and tourism human resource organizations worked together on the project, beginning a pan-Canadian discussion into how qualifications in the cooking profession link to one another.

Incorporating National Occupational Standards into Tourism Techniques Articulation Project (Projected completion date: July 2009)

Integrating relevant national occupational standards into the curriculum of Cégep de Saint-Félicien, and achieving reciprocity between Tourism HR Canada and this Quebec-based college, will allow students there to acquire a variety of management and occupation-specific skills.

Upon graduation, it will also lead to automatic receipt of an emerit certificate for occupational knowledge. Individuals who receive this emerit certification could also receive recognition toward the Tourism Techniques program at Cégep de Saint-Félicien.

Comparative Study: Cooks Apprenticeship Comparative Study: Canada and Germany (May 2008)

In Canada, both Tourism HR Canada and the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program are involved in delivering programs that are intended to provide a dependable process for identifying practitioners who meet particular standards.

This study includes a comparison of the qualifications required for obtaining the Line Cook credential offered through

the emerit Line Cook Certification Program

the Red Seal designation for cooks available through the Interprovincial Standards Red Seal Program, and

the Specialized Worker Certificate: Cook, available through the apprenticeship program delivered by the German Dual Vocational Education and Training (VET) System.

Comparative Analysis: The EMBOK Model Framework and the emerit Event Coordinator/Event Manager Occupational Standards

Occupational standards are the skills, knowledge, and attitudes needed to be considered competent in an occupation. Standards are created from a detailed occupational analysis that results in the identification of criteria-based performance and knowledge requirements for that occupation.

The EMBOK model is a knowledge framework and descriptive summary of the scope and processes that are used in the management of events. It is a sequential system reflecting the changing nature of event management.

Since its release, the model is being refined and validated through input from numerous industry and academic groups around the world. Taking the results of this study one step further, Tourism HR Canada is currently leading the development of an international event-management standard.

Comparative Analysis: SAQA National Diploma: Event Coordination and emerit Event Coordinator/Event Manager (July 2007)

In 1998, South Africa established the Sector Education and Training Authorities (SETAs), including the Services SETA and THETA, the Tourism and Hospitality Training Authority. South Africa’s National Qualifications Framework (NQF) was established, in part, “to facilitate the assessment of the international comparability of standards and qualifications” (International Labour Organization website).

Both Canada and South Africa have recognized credentials for the events industry that are based on standards. A comparative analysis of these standards will further the development of an FCR model for the events community and events industry in both countries.

Comparative Study: Emerit and Federation of Dining Room Professionals Certifications (September 2007)

This study compared emerit national occupational standards, performance materials and recognition methods related to food and beverage service and supervisory/management occupations.

The Federation of Dining Room Professionals (FDRP) is a worldwide, US-based organization dedicated to promoting service excellence in dining rooms and restaurants.

The study included the review and analysis of governance, administrative procedures and theoretical approaches to development as well as assessment methods and processes. As a result of the study, Tourism HR Canada and FDRP are currently discussing reciprocity agreements.

Selective World Scan of Tourism & Hospitality Education and Training Frameworks (March 2006)

(Only available in English)

This research project included a world scan and analysis of tourism and hospitality education and training frameworks and a comparison with practices in Canada. The study reviewed workplace (industry) training, assessment and recognition systems and post-secondary-education systems as well as trends for country/regional qualification frameworks. The study includes recommendations to support potential bilateral or multilateral learner/labourer recognition.

A Comparative Study of Tourism HR Canada and the Australian Tourism and Hospitality Training Packages (December 2005)

Tourism HR Canada developed an industry-certification program in response to the increasing demand for skilled employees and the desire to provide a high level of service within the tourism industry. Additionally, Tourism HR Canada recognizes that anticipated growth in employment may not be met by the current or future Canadian workforce, and that the industry would benefit from the recognition of international skills and qualifications that encourage the mobility and transferability of labour from foreign countries.

To meet future needs, a foreign-credential-recognition (FCR) model must be developed and connected with the sector’s existing occupational standards as well as its professional certification (credential) program. 

A Comparative Study of Tourism HR Canada and CARIBCERT Professional Certification Systems (October 2005)

This project comprised a review of selected international credential-recognition systems. It looked at the terms and conditions of those systems and identified what is common among them and relevant to Canada. The intent was to build upon existing relationships and similar work that has been conducted on establishing joint recognition systems between countries.

The goal was to develop a better understanding of assessment and recognition methodology. The project also looked at identifying concerns and requirements associated with establishing an FCR model.

Foreign Systems: Research Review of Standards and Certification Systems in Canada and the Caribbean (November 2005)

This project investigated the terms, conditions and processes of the development and implementation of selected standards and certification systems in

education and training for the tourism sector in Canada and the Caribbean. It sought to identify what elements, if any, are common and relevant to both.

Comparaison, articulation et réciprocité des programmes

Évaluer, comparer, reconnaître l’apprentissage antérieur

Pour parvenir à une véritable mobilité des apprenants et des travailleurs dans les professions non réglementées, le secteur du tourisme du Canada doit se doter de meilleurs mécanismes d’évaluation, de comparaison et de reconnaissance des acquis.

En présence de mécanismes précis, équitables et fiables permettant aux enseignants, aux formateurs et aux apprenants d’évaluer, de comparer et de reconnaître les compétences et les titres de compétence, tout le monde est gagnant.

Prenant appui sur ses normes de compétence nationales et son programme de reconnaissance professionnelle, RH Tourisme Canada effectue des recherches ciblées. Il répertorie et compare, pour chaque profession ciblée, les objectifs d’apprentissage établis par les établissements d’enseignement et par les associations de l’industrie, ici et à l’étranger. Les résultats de ces travaux permettront d’élaborer des protocoles et des mécanismes efficaces de reconnaissance des acquis pour les professions touristiques.

Cadre de compétences des cuisiniers

(disponible en anglais seulement)

Une définition claire des cheminements de carrière et des compétences requises peut améliorer la productivité de l’industrie, car elle facilite le recrutement, la sélection et le maintien en poste des candidats les plus qualifiés.

Pour que les employeurs puissent évaluer correctement les compétences des candidats, et pour que les candidats s’y retrouvent parmi les divers programmes de formation et les exigences de l’industrie, il est nécessaire de définir de façon claire, cohérente et réaliste les cheminements de formation et de carrière possibles.

Ce projet a été lancé par des chefs et des formateurs qui ont décidé d’unir leurs efforts pour offrir des ressources susceptibles d’attirer de nouveaux candidats dans la profession.

Chefs, représentants de l’industrie, enseignants et formateurs, apprentis et organismes de développement des ressources humaines en tourisme ont amorcé une analyse nationale des divers titres de compétence en cuisine, afin d’établir un classement cohérent.

Projet d’intégration des normes de compétence nationales dans la formation en tourisme (Date d’achèvement prévue : juillet 2009)

L’intégration des normes de compétence nationale pertinentes dans le programme de formation du cégep de Saint-Félicien, et l’établissement de liens de réciprocité entre RH Tourisme Canada et ce collège québécois, permettront aux étudiants d’acquérir un éventail de compétences professionnelles et de gestion.

De plus, les finissants recevront automatiquement une attestation emerit de connaissance de la fonction de travail. Réciproquement, les détenteurs de l’attestation emerit pourront aussi recevoir le diplôme en Techniques touristiques du cégep de Saint-Félicien.

Étude comparative des programmes d’apprentissage pour cuisiniers : Canada et Allemagne (mai 2008)

(bientôt disponible en français)

Au Canada, les programmes du RH Tourisme Canada et les programmes interprovinciaux Sceau rouge permettent de reconnaître de façon fiable les professionnels qui satisfont aux normes établies.

Cette étude compare les compétences requises pour obtenir le titre de cuisinier à la chaîne, entre le programme national emerit pour cuisiniers à la chaîne, le programme interprovincial Sceau rouge pour cuisiniers, et le programme pour cuisiniers offert en Allemagne par le Dual Vocational Education and Training (VET) System.

Comparative Analysis: The EMBOK Model Framework and the Tourism HR Canada Event Coordinator/Event Manager Occupational Standards

(disponible en anglais seulement)

Les normes de compétence sont définies comme les connaissances, les habiletés et les attitudes qu’une personne doit s’approprier pour être considérée comme compétente dans une fonction de travail donnée. Après une analyse détaillée de la profession, on définit dans les normes et les exigences de connaissances et de rendement correspondant à la profession concernée.

Le modèle EMBOK est une représentation tridimensionnelle des étapes de gestion d’une activité spéciale. Il s’agit d’un modèle séquentiel reflétant la nature changeante de la gestion d’une activité spéciale.

Depuis sa création, le modèle est raffiné et validé à l’échelle internationale par de nombreux groupes de l’industrie et du monde de l’enseignement. S’appuyant sur les résultats de cette étude, RH Tourisme Canada coordonne actuellement l’élaboration de normes de compétence internationales pour les gestionnaires d’activités spéciales.

Comparative Analysis: SAQA National Diploma: Event Coordination and Tourism HR Canada Event Coordinator/Event Manager (juillet 2007)

(disponible en anglais seulement)

En 1998, l’Afrique du Sud a institué les Sector Education and Training Authorities (SETAs), qui comprennent les services SETA et la THETA (Tourism and Hospitality Training Authority). Le South Africa’s National Qualifications Framework (NQF) a été créé, entre autres, pour faciliter l’évaluation de la comparabilité internationale des normes de compétence (site Web de l’Organisation internationale du Travail).

Le Canada et l’Afrique du Sud ont établi des normes de compétence pour l’industrie des activités spéciales. Une analyse comparative de ces normes permettra d’élaborer un modèle de reconnaissance des titres de compétence étrangers pour l’industrie des activités spéciales dans les deux pays.

Comparative Study: Emerit and Federation of Dining Room Professionals Certifications (septembre 2007)

(disponible en anglais seulement)

Dans le cadre de cette étude, on a comparé les normes de compétence nationales, le matériel d’évaluation du rendement et les méthodes de reconnaissance pour les postes de service et de gestion en restauration.

La Federation of Dining Room Professionals (FDRP) est un organisme international basé aux États-Unis, voué à la promotion de l’excellence du service dans le domaine de la restauration.

L’étude comprenait la revue et l’analyse de la gouvernance, des pratiques administratives, de l’approche théorique en matière d’élaboration des programmes, et des méthodes d’évaluation. Les résultats de l’étude ont donné lieu à un projet d’entente de réciprocité entre RH Tourisme Canada et la FDRP; les discussions sont en cours.

Selective World Scan of Tourism & Hospitality Education and Training Frameworks (mars 2006)

(disponible en anglais seulement)

Ce projet de recherche comprenait une analyse à l’échelle mondiale des modèles de formation scolaire et professionnelle en tourisme, et une comparaison de ces modèles avec les pratiques en vigueur au Canada. Dans le cadre de l’étude, on a analysé la formation, l’évaluation et la reconnaissance professionnelle en milieu de travail (industrie); les systèmes d’éducation postsecondaire; et les modèles régionaux d’évaluation des compétences. Le rapport d’étude contient des recommandations favorables à l’élaboration d’un système de reconnaissance bilatérale ou multilatérale des apprenants et des travailleurs.

Étude comparative des programmes de formation en tourisme du RH Tourisme Canada et de l’Australie

(décembre 2005)

RH Tourisme Canada a élaboré un programme de reconnaissance professionnelle destiné à l’industrie pour répondre à la demande croissante d’employés qualifiés et au désir d’offrir un service d’excellente qualité au sein de cette même industrie. Néanmoins, RH Tourisme Canada reconnaît que la croissance prévue de l’emploi risque de provoquer une pénurie de main-d’œuvre au Canada, et que l’industrie a tout à gagner à reconnaître les compétences acquises à l’étranger, afin de favoriser l’immigration et la mobilité des travailleurs formés à l’étranger.

Afin de répondre aux besoins futurs, un système de reconnaissance des titres de compétence étrangers (RTCÉ) doit être mis au point et concorder avec les normes de compétence et le programme de reconnaissance professionnelle en vigueur.

Étude comparative des programmes de reconnaissance professionnelle du RH Tourisme Canada et de CARIBCERT

(octobre 2005)

Cette étude comprenait une revue de certains systèmes internationaux de reconnaissance des titres de compétence. On a répertorié les éléments communs de ces systèmes, ainsi que les éléments pertinents pour le Canada. Le but de l’étude consistait à prendre appui sur les relations actuelles et sur les études similaires pour établir des systèmes de reconnaissance conjoints entre pays.

Il s’agissait de mieux comprendre la méthodologie d’évaluation et de reconnaissance. On a aussi tenté de déterminer les difficultés et les exigences associées à l’élaboration d’un modèle de reconnaissance des titres de compétence étrangers.

Systèmes étrangers : Une étude sur les normes et les systèmes de reconnaissance professionnelle en vigueur au Canada et dans les Caraïbes

(novembre 2005)

Cette étude a porté sur les conditions et processus d’élaboration et de mise en application de normes et de systèmes sélectionnés de reconnaissance professionnelle pour l’enseignement et la formation en tourisme au Canada et dans les Caraïbes. Elle visait à déterminer d’éventuels éléments communs et pertinents pour les deux pays.