Newcomer Integration

Integrating Newcomers into the Tourism Sector

Settling and integrating newcomers into the tourism sector is a complex issue and needs collaborative efforts from newcomers, employers, immigrant-serving agencies and tourism human resource organizations alike.

In the past, research conducted by a variety of government, not-for-profit and think-tank organizations has identified the major employment barriers for immigrants in Canada. These include: lack of Canadian workplace experience, lack of language skills, lack of understanding and recognition of foreign credentials and competencies, the tendency of employers to screen out “overqualified” candidates and a lack of networking opportunities.

Many organizations are already providing services to decrease barriers and assist immigrants in finding gainful employment. These barriers and services also apply in large part to international job seekers in the tourism sector.

The identification and adaptation of strategies and tools will assist newcomers to find gainful employment and will help meet the human-resources needs of tourism employers.

Integrating Immigrant Skills into the Tourism Workplace (Projected completion date: February 2008)

This project builds on Tourism HR Canada’s “Getting There from Here” research and emulates The Employer’s Roadmap to Hiring and Retaining Internationally Trained Workers, commissioned by Citizenship and Immigration Canada. This tourism-specific roadmap addresses systemic barriers through the use of successful collaboration models to create an adaptable and region-specific model for integrating newcomers to Canada.

Defining Expectations: Canadian Workplace Experience (November 2007)

This research engaged tourism employers, immigrant-serving agencies and newcomers to articulate the specific skills, attitudes and behaviours that foreign-trained workers must demonstrate to secure entry-level positions in the tourism industry.

The report outlines the nine basic skills and attitudes that more than 200,000 small and medium-sized tourism enterprises look for in new hires and recommends specific ways to recognize and integrate qualified new Canadians and internationally trained individuals into the workforce.  (For an executive summary of this report, (click here)

In response to the outcomes of the study, Canadian Workplace Essentials, a national training program tailored to the needs of new Canadians was developed. This will enable the industry to accelerate the integration of immigrants into the labour market, and will prepare foreign-trained professionals to meet the expectations of interviewers and tourism-sector employers.

Getting There From Here: Immigrant-Serving Agency Perspectives on Meeting the Challenges Facing Newcomers in the Tourism Sector (September 2005)

The objective of this research was to identify and catalogue the programs and providers that serve immigrant populations, including those that provide language training, literacy training, career counselling and other help to prepare individuals for work. The results are being used to assist Tourism HR Canada to develop working relationships with these groups. The goal is to help them provide effective, efficient service and to prevent duplication of effort in terms of assessing and recognizing the credentials of newcomers to Canada.

Research Towards a Foreign-Credentials Recognition Model for Non-Regulated Professions (September 2004)

The goal of this project was to examine ways to improve labour mobility by helping new immigrants from non-regulated professions come to Canada more easily and by assisting them to integrate into the Canadian labour force more quickly.

Intégration des nouveaux arrivants

Intégrer les nouveaux arrivants au secteur du tourisme

L’intégration des nouveaux arrivants au secteur du tourisme est une question complexe qui nécessite une collaboration étroite de la part des nouveaux arrivants, des employeurs, des services d’immigration et des organismes de développement des ressources humaines en tourisme.

Des recherches menées par divers services gouvernementaux, organismes sans but lucratif et groupes d’analystes ont permis de définir les principaux obstacles auxquels font face les travailleurs immigrants au Canada : aucune expérience de travail au Canada, compétence linguistique insuffisante, incompréhension et non-reconnaissance des titres de compétence étrangers, tendance des employeurs à rejeter les candidats surqualifiés, et absence de réseau de relations.

De nombreux organismes offrent déjà des services d’aide aux immigrants à la recherche d’un emploi rémunérateur. Les obstacles à l’emploi dans le secteur du tourisme sont en grande partie les mêmes que dans les autres secteurs.

L’élaboration et l’adaptation de stratégies et d’outils d’aide aux nouveaux arrivants permettront de les aider à trouver un emploi rémunérateur et de mieux répondre aux besoins en main-d’œuvre des employeurs touristiques.

Intégrer les compétences des immigrants au marché du travail en tourisme (Date d’achèvement prévue : février 2008)

Prenant appui sur la recherche du RH Tourisme Canada intitulée « UN CHEMINEMENT DIFFICILE », ce projet s’inspire du guide d’embauche et de conservation des travailleurs formés à l’étranger (The Employer’s Roadmap to Hiring and Retaining Internationally Trained Workers), commandé par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada. Spécialement destiné aux employeurs touristiques, ce guide propose des modèles efficaces d’intégration des nouveaux arrivants, adaptables à chaque région.

Définir les attentes : Expérience dans le milieu de travail canadien (novembre 2007)

Dans le cadre de cette recherche, on a demandé aux employeurs touristiques, aux services d’immigration et aux nouveaux arrivants de définir les compétences, les attitudes et les comportements qu’on attend des travailleurs formés à l’étranger qui veulent obtenir un emploi de premier échelon dans l’industrie du tourisme.

Le rapport décrit les neuf compétences et attitudes de base que plus de 200 000 PME touristiques recherchent au moment de l’embauche. On y propose des façons de reconnaître et d’intégrer à son effectif les nouveaux Canadiens formés à l’étranger. (Cliquer ici pour obtenir un résumé du rapport.)

En réponse aux résultats de l’étude, on a élaboré un programme de formation national (Compétences essentielles en milieu de travail canadien) adapté aux besoins des nouveaux Canadiens. Ce programme permettra à l’industrie d’accélérer l’intégration des immigrants au marché du travail, et préparera les professionnels formés à l’étranger à répondre aux attentes des employeurs du secteur du tourisme.

Un cheminement difficile : Perspectives des organismes d’aide aux immigrants concernant les défis relevés par les nouveaux arrivants dans le secteur du tourisme

(septembre 2005)

Cette recherche avait pour objectif de répertorier et de cataloguer les programmes et les fournisseurs des services offerts aux immigrants, notamment en matière de formation linguistique, d’alphabétisation et d’orientation professionnelle. Les résultats de la recherche aident le CCRHT à établir des relations de travail avec ces groupes. RH Tourisme Canada a pour objectif d’aider ces fournisseurs à offrir des services efficaces, tout en prévenant les chevauchements inutiles dans l’évaluation et la reconnaissance des titres de compétence des nouveaux arrivants au Canada.

Research Towards a Foreign-Credentials Recognition Model for Non-Regulated Professions (septembre 2004)

(disponible en anglais seulement)

Ce projet avait pour objectif l’exploration des façons de faciliter l’immigration, d’accélérer l’intégration et d’accroître la mobilité des travailleurs étrangers exerçant une profession non réglementée.