Credit and Learning Transfer System

Research on Transferring Foreign Learning and Credentials

A “learning-transfer” model, that is, a mechanism by which credentials can be valued and traded across Canada, is at the root of any foreign-credential-recognition system.

The subject of credit transfer has a long history in Canada. There are many references and publications by Canadian sources that describe credit-transfer protocols or arrangements among higher-learning institutions.

To date, it is not clear to what extent credit transfer is achieved across disciplines, across Canadian jurisdictions or with institutions outside of Canada. A system that recognizes different forms of learning would encourage further or more specialized training and would foster the development of equivalencies between different types of learners. The system would also increase mobility between occupations as well as inter-provincially, as learning outcomes would be common in “like” programs across the country.

Research into Europass: A Potential Canadian Framework for the Transfer of Qualifications and Competencies

The purpose of this project is to produce research that will guide the formulation of an effective credit-transfer system in Canada. The goal is to increase the recognition of learning, be it formal, informal or non-formal and to support the development of a Canadian model for foreign-credential recognition for non-regulated professions.

This project will include comprehensive research into Europass and the European credit-transfer system as well as credit-transfer work that has already been completed in Canada. The final report will include recommendations toward a potential model for a credit-transfer system in Canada.

Educator Engagement, Foreign-Credential Recognition (October 2005)

Built on a previous study, this research project had two goals. The first goal was to conduct round-table meetings and consult with the education community to explore their practices, issues and needs as they relate to the services they provide to immigrants. The intention was to examine those services in relation to foreign-credential recognition and program accreditation.

The second goal was to define the implications—and the activities that would be required—if a credit-transfer system is established on a national level.

Système de transfert des apprentissages et des crédits

Transfert de l’apprentissage et des titres de compétence étrangers : recherche

Tout système de reconnaissance des titres de compétence étrangers repose sur un modèle de transfert des apprentissages et des crédits, c’est-à-dire un mécanisme par lequel les titres de compétence peuvent être évalués et acceptés partout au Canada.

Le sujet du transfert des crédits n’est pas nouveau au Canada. De nombreux ouvrages de référence et publications de source canadienne décrivent les protocoles et les arrangements de transfert des crédits entre institutions d’enseignement supérieur.

Actuellement, on ne sait trop dans quelle mesure le transfert des crédits est possible entre disciplines, entre provinces ou entre pays. Un système qui permettrait la reconnaissance de différentes formes d’apprentissage encouragerait les travailleurs à poursuivre leur formation ou à se spécialiser, et favoriserait la définition d’équivalences entre différents types d’apprenants. Le système accroîtrait aussi la mobilité entre professions et entre provinces, puisque les résultats d’apprentissage seraient communs à tous les programmes comparables partout au pays.

Recherche sur Europass : Modèle potentiellement applicable à la reconnaissance des qualifications et des compétences au Canada

Cette recherche vise à guider l’élaboration d’un système efficace de transfert des crédits au Canada. Il s’agit d’accroître la reconnaissance des apprentissages, qu’ils soient scolaires ou non, et de soutenir l’élaboration d’un modèle canadien de reconnaissance des titres de compétence étrangers pour les professions non réglementées.

Ce projet comporte un examen en profondeur d’Europass et du système européen de transfert des crédits, ainsi que des travaux déjà effectués en ce domaine au Canada. Le rapport final présentera des recommandations pour l’élaboration d’un modèle de système de transfert des crédits applicable au Canada.

Educator Engagement, Foreign-Credential Recognition (octobre 2005)
(disponible en anglais seulement)

Prenant appui sur une étude antérieure, ce projet de recherche visait deux objectifs. Le premier objectif consistait à organiser des tables rondes afin de connaître les pratiques, les difficultés et les besoins du milieu de l’enseignement en matière de services aux immigrants. Il s’agissait d’examiner ces services du point de vue de la reconnaissance des titres de compétence étrangers et de l’agrément des programmes.

Le deuxième objectif consistait à définir les implications et les modalités d’établissement d’un système national de transfert des crédits.