Cambridge Suites Halifax

Strong Partnership is Central to Ready-to-Work

Partnerships have been the key to the success of the Ready-to-Work program in Nova Scotia. Those contributing to make the Cambridge Suites’ experience so positive were the Nova Scotia Tourism Human Resource Council (NSTHRC), Tourism HR Canada, Reachability, The WorkBridge Association and other Nova Scotia tourism employers.

The standard Ready-to-Work program offered by NSTHRC runs for five weeks, and in this time, students can also complete two national emerit certificates: Tourism Essentials and Canadian Workplace Essentials. In addition, they can add several provincial and program-specific certificates to their portfolios: Superhost Atlantic, Serve Right Responsible Beverage Service, Stress Management, Time Management, Basic Budgeting, Workplace Etiquette, First Aid/CPR (cardiopulmonary resuscitation), Tourism WHMIS (Workplace Hazardous Materials Information System), Food Handlers, Professionalism, Basic Communication Skills and Job Readiness.

Two years ago, in its ongoing efforts to help program graduates and their employers succeed, NSTHRC obtained funding to allow it to include a third national emerit certificate at no cost to students or participating employers. To prepare students for the national certificate exam, an extra two weeks was added to the standard program. During these two weeks, students are introduced to a specific tourism occupation.

In the two years of running this now seven-week program (called One Journey), the most often chosen occupation has been housekeeping room attendant. This two-week occupation-specific training is a great addition to the transition-into-work program. It is especially helpful to job seekers who have never been employed in a Canadian workplace or who have been out of the workplace for a period of time. It is also helps employers like Cambridge Suites Hotel Halifax.

Cambridge Suites became a partner in the Ready-to-Work program because over 65% of its eligible staff had completed national emerit professional certificates through NSTHRC, and the hotel respects and trusts the work that this Council does. When NSTHRC started training candidates to challenge emerit professional certificate two years ago, that made partnership with the Council even more attractive to the hotel.

Cambridge Suites has hired five graduates from the Ready-to-Work program over the last three years. Although these new hires were still provided the usual corporate training that all new hires receive, Sharon Rutland, Human Resources Manager, believes that the understanding students receive about the nature of the occupation during One Journey helps them to learn faster on the job and increases their job satisfaction. When a new housekeeping room attendant is happy with the work and stays with the hotel, this saves training money otherwise lost to turnover—new housekeepers require at least one week of one-on-one coaching with a supervisor to prepare them to work on their own. The hotel also appreciates that the graduates’ fees for the professional certificate exam are covered by the One Journey program.

For their contribution to the partnership, Cambridge Suites Halifax has hosted several job fairs that include a tour of the property, and a meet-and-greet session with 18 other employers. The human resource directors in this group then arrange times for more detailed interviews with candidates who match positions within their housekeeping teams. The One Journey program instructor is available to provide feedback and answer questions about each candidate’s preferred learning style.

Cambridge Suites Halifax strives to have a diversified workforce—approximately 35% of the hotel’s staff members are new Canadians; 25% have known disabilities. NSTHRC supports the hotel by linking it to agencies that provide support for individuals in diverse labour markets. It connected Sharon with Reachability, an agency that specializes in integrating people with disabilities into workplaces. Reachability delivered training to hotel managers and other staff about how to work with and serve those with disabilities. The WorkBridge Association provided job coaches. The hotel’s partnership with NSTHRC, Reachability and The WorkBridge Association has helped to create a happy and productive diversified workforce.

For Sharon, the most meaningful aspect of hiring and employing Ready-to-Work and One Journey graduates has been working with the instructors. The partnership gives her someone with whom she can discuss the students’ strengths, and areas where they might need guidance. The information the instructors provide helps the hotel establish expectations and provide support. This results in greater success for the new hires and for the hotel.

Sharon recommends the Ready-to-Work and One Journey programs to other employers because “the support provided by the Council is huge.” The communication, training and help provided by the NSTHRC and its partners make the challenges easier to overcome. The partnerships create more commitment among employers and employees to make success happen.

Cambridge Suites Halifax

Au cœur du programme : un solide partenariat

Les partenariats se sont révélés la clé du succès du programme Emplois clés en main en Nouvelle-Écosse. Parmi les organismes qui ont contribué à rendre l’expérience du Cambridge Suites si positive, mentionnons le Nova Scotia Tourism Human Resource Council (NSTHRC), RH Tourisme Canada, The WorkBridge Association et d’autres employeurs du secteur du tourisme de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le programme Emplois clés en main standard offert par le NSTHRC s’étend sur cinq semaines pendant lesquelles les étudiants peuvent aussi obtenir deux attestations emerit : Compétences essentielles en tourisme et Compétences essentielles en milieu de travail canadien. Ils peuvent également ajouter à leur bagage plusieurs certificats provinciaux ou propres à certains programmes : SuperAccueil Atlantique, le cours de service d’alcool responsable Serving it Right, Gestion du stress, Gestion du temps, Budgétisation, Étiquette professionnelle, Premiers soins/RCR (réanimation cardiorespiratoire), SIMDUT en tourisme (Système d'information sur les matières dangereuses utilisées au travail), Manipulation des aliments, Professionnalisme, Aptitudes de base en communication et Préparation à l’emploi.

Il y a deux ans, dans ses efforts soutenus visant à aider les diplômés du programme et leurs employeurs à réussir, le NSTHRC a obtenu le financement lui permettant d'ajouter une troisième attestation emerit nationale, sans frais pour les étudiants ou les employeurs participants. De plus, en vue de préparer les étudiants à l’examen menant à l'obtention de l’attestation nationale, on a ajouté au programme standard deux semaines au cours desquelles ils se familiarisent avec une fonction de travail précise du domaine du tourisme.

Dans les deux années d’existence du programme (appelé One Journey), qui s'étend maintenant sur sept semaines, le poste le plus souvent choisi a été celui de Préposé à l’entretien ménager. Cette formation de deux semaines relative à une fonction de travail s’est révélée un ajout formidable au programme de transition au monde du travail. Elle est particulièrement utile aux chercheurs d’emplois qui n’ont jamais été en milieu de travail canadien ou qui ont cessé de travailler pendant un certain temps. Elle s’avère également utile aux employeurs, comme l’hôtel Cambridge Suites de Halifax.

Le Cambridge Suites est devenu partenaire du programme Emplois clés en main parce que plus de 65 % de ses employés admissibles avaient obtenu des attestations professionnelles emerit par l’entremise du NSTHRC et que l’établissement considère avec respect et confiance le travail qu’accomplit cet organisme. Le partenariat avec le NSTHRC a revêtu un attrait particulier pour l’hôtel lorsque l’organisme a commencé à former des candidats en vue de l’obtention de l’attestation professionnelle emerit il y a deux ans.

Le Cambridge Suites a embauché cinq diplômés du programme Emplois clés en main dans les trois dernières années. Bien que ces employés aient quand même reçu la formation habituellement offerte aux nouveaux venus, Sharon Rutland, directrice des Ressources humaines, croit que les connaissances acquises par les étudiants au cours du programme One Journey quant à la nature du poste les aident à apprendre plus rapidement et accroît leur degré de satisfaction. Lorsqu’un nouveau préposé à l’entretien ménager aime son travail et reste en poste, l’établissement économise de l’argent qu’il aurait autrement perdu dans le processus de roulement du personnel; en effet, il faut au moins une semaine d’encadrement individuel avec un superviseur pour préparer le préposé à voler de ses propres ailes. L’hôtel apprécie également le fait que les frais associés à l’examen d’obtention des attestations professionnelles des diplômés sont couverts par le programme One Journey.

Pour sa contribution au partenariat, le Cambridge Suites Halifax a organisé plusieurs salons de l’emploi inclus dans la visite de l’établissement de même qu’une séance d’accueil avec 18 autres employeurs. Les directeurs des ressources humaines de ce groupe ont ensuite prévu du temps pour s’entretenir plus en profondeur avec les candidats qui souhaitent obtenir un poste au sein de leurs équipes. L’instructeur du programme One Journey fournit de la rétroaction et répond aux questions sur le style d’apprentissage préféré de chacun des candidats.

Le Cambridge Suites Halifax s’efforce de maintenir la diversité de son personnel; environ 35 % des employés de l’hôtel sont de nouveaux Canadiens et 25 % sont atteints d’une invalidité connue. Le NSTHRC appuie l’hôtel en l’aiguillant vers les organismes qui viennent en aide aux travailleurs dans des marchés du travail diversifiés. Il a mis Sharon en contact avec Reachability, un organisme qui se spécialise dans l’intégration des personnes handicapées en milieu de travail. Reachability a donné aux gestionnaires de l’hôtel et à d’autres employés une formation quant à la manière de travailler avec des personnes handicapées et de les servir. Pour sa part, la WorkBridge Association a fourni des formateurs. Le partenariat de l’hôtel avec le NSTHRC, Reachability et The WorkBridge Association a permis de former une main-d’œuvre diversifiée, heureuse et productive.

Pour Sharon, l’aspect le plus significatif associé à l’embauche de diplômés des programmes Emplois clés en main et One Journey est la collaboration avec les formateurs. Grâce à ce partenariat, elle peut discuter des forces des apprenants de même que des aspects pour lesquels ils peuvent avoir besoin de conseils. Les renseignements fournis par les formateurs aident l’hôtel à fixer des attentes et à offrir son soutien, ce qui se traduit par une plus grande réussite pour l’établissement et ses nouveaux employés.

Sharon recommande les programmes Emplois clés en main et One Journey aux autres employeurs parce que « le soutien offert par le NSTHRC est fantastique. » La communication, la formation et l’aide apportées par l’organisme et ses partenaires rendent les défis plus faciles à relever. Les partenariats favorisent l’engagement des employeurs et des employés envers le succès.