In June 2017, Tourism HR Canada officially adopted a new Board structure to reflect a fresh strategic direction and a focus on the core competencies individual directors can contribute to the collective expertise of an engaged and proactive Board.

Tourism HR Canada Board Structure

Up to thirteen (13) Directors shall be elected by eligible Members, on the basis of nominations and a cross-sectional representation of all stakeholders of the pan-Canadian tourism sector, vetted against the Board Competency Framework and meeting the following criteria.

Members shall elect from the slate of candidates presented by the Nominating Committee:

  • a minimum of one (1) and a maximum of four (4) Directors falling into the category of representing a national or pan-Canadian, cross-sectoral tourism association or national specialty interest association, including Tourism Industry Association of Canada, Hotel Association of Canada, Destination Canada, Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada, or similar;
  • a minimum of one (1) and a maximum of four (4) Directors falling into the category of representing a provincial/territorial or regional tourism sector (or related) association;
  • a maximum of one (1) Director falling into the category of representing a tourism educator, researcher, or educational institution; and
  • a minimum of one (1) and a maximum of four (4) Directors falling into the category representing provincial, regional, pan-Canadian, or international business (or related) organization with an emphasis on tourism or tourism-related services (i.e., at Large).

Current Directors

  • Vince Accardi, Director, Policy and Stakeholder Relations, Tourism Industry Association of Canada
  • Joe Baker, Dean, School of Hospitality, Tourism and Culinary Arts, Centennial College
  • Victoria Behune, President and CEO, OTEC
  • Jim Bence, President and CEO, Saskatchewan Hotel & Hospitality Association
  • Frederic Dimanche, Director, Ted Rogers School of Hospitality and Tourism Management, Ryerson University
  • Shannon Fontaine, CEO, Manitoba Tourism Education Council/Manitoba Tourism Education College
  • Darlene Grant Fiander, President, Tourism Industry Association of Nova Scotia/Executive Director, Nova Scotia Tourism Human Resource Council
  • Susie Grynol, President, Hotel Association of Canada
  • Keith Henry, President and CEO, Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada
  • Shanna Munro, President and CEO, Restaurants Canada
  • Ivan White, Tourism Development & Marketing Officer, No'kmaq Village - Flat Bay Band Inc.
  • Christine Willow, Partner, Chemistry Consulting
  • Mehmet Yunli, Director of Finance, Tourism Industry Association of New Brunswick
  • Philip Mondor, President, Tourism HR Canada
  • Bill Pallett, WJ Pallett & Associates